Life Of A Corper

A Different Life [Life In Gwadabawa].

Diary of a Sokoto corper

Its been a week since I arrived here at Gwadabawa “town” as its called, where I have been posted to the Sultan Abdulrahman school of Health Technology.

The very first thing that struck me about this place and its people is its/their slow pace of life. Everything here seems to happen slowly, without rush. Here the schools and shops do not really open till around 10am. In fact, most stay shut till that time. So imagine my shock when I turn up for duty with my fellow fresh corpers by 7:30am only to be look at with reactions ranging from surprise to laughter. The older hands all assured me that they had made the same mistake too.

By 12pm noon, the primary schools are already emptying out and by 2pm the secondary schools and monotechnics (I am at one) are all retiring for the day. I asked if it would be possible to keep the students beyond 2pm. That suggestion was greeted with raucous laughter. I would end up teaching an empty lecture hall they said. By 3:30pm to 4:00pm, the day is already winding up, businesses and shops close down and the people give themselves over to other casual pursuits or just go straight home.

This leads me to believe that the Hausas here are rather very easy going and simple. They can’t really be bothered to exert themselves. They take things calm and easy. This is very much unlike what one sees in the south. Its a bloody rat race. Traders plan to outdo themselves on who opens shop first and sells the most. Neighbours are struggling to get one over each other by working so hard just to acquire stuff. I mean now I know why a generator is called “I beta pass my neighbour”.

The only problems one has here are lack of social amenities such as running water, electricity and network (yes Airtel, I’m looking at you). The indigenes don’t care about these three which are so precious to me. What do they need them for anyway? They can manage MTN, use firewood and charge their phones and rechargeables at Mai gida’s shop. The only thing they tend to take serious is their religious obligation. Five times a day, not to be trifled with.

1 thought on “A Different Life [Life In Gwadabawa].”

Leave a Reply

